Well, This Sucks

So . . . shitty news. Specifically, on the writing front.

Turd the First: the publisher I submitted my novel to sent me a rejection letter last week. They were pretty awesome about it, made it clear that it probably wasn’t because I suck at what I do, but it was still a form-letter and it absolutely sucks.

I’m still hurting about this one. I wrote that novel specifically for this open call. I knew it was kind of a long shot, but still. I hoped.

Regardless, I’m not giving up on it. I’ll need some time to feel shitty about it, but then I plan on re-reading, revising if needed, and sending it somewhere else. Maybe some other publisher will be interested in it. I can’t say “it doesn’t hurt to try” because, actually, it does hurt, but I’m gonna try anyway.

Turd the Second: apparently Torquere LLC, the publisher that first told me “yes” and published my short story “Closer”, is going under. There has been a lot of talk over several months that’s made me uneasy, but I chose to have faith in the owners and editors. I decided to move forward with the contract I signed. It turns out that that was probably a mistake.

This makes me feel absolutely heartsick. I feel like I was taken advantage of, because I was so very, very new to the publishing world. This, combined with the rejection, has me wondering if my dream of being a writer is laughable. The idea of submitting my works to other publishers and finding out later that they’re untrustworthy is not only exhausting, it’s disheartening.

I don’t know what, exactly, my next move will be here. I’ve contacted someone in the industry with experience, and plan on reaching out to others. I’m going to try and get more information before deciding what my next move is. The only thing I know for sure, though, is that I won’t stop writing. I can’t. I’m simply not capable of it.

I might, however, take a bit of a break from it. Just for a little while. Maybe. More because I have a lot of other things going on in my life right now — upcoming holidays, the anniversary of Motherunit’s expiration, sorting out my health — than because of this whole debacle, but still. Putting pressure on myself to write when I’m overtaxed and my heart isn’t in it is a bad idea.

~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

 

2 thoughts on “Well, This Sucks

  1. Anonymous says:

    As someone who reads (and likes) your fanfiction, who is an avid reader in general, who worked in libraries for many years, and is an aspiring writer herself, I can tell you that your work IS good enough. Don’t get discouraged.

    Publishing is as much about matchmaking as it is about talent; you have to find the right home for your work, and sometimes, that takes a long time. Don’t give up, and in the meantime, write something else, and start submitting that, too.

    I know you don’t know me, and I don’t follow your blog, but I BELIEVE IN YOU.

    Keep writing.

    • K Martin says:

      Thank you so much. I got this on my birthday, and it felt like an amazing gift — being encouraged to keep doing this thing that I love, even though I was dealing with some very real disappointment and struggling with a way through the disenchantment.

      Thank you so, so much for taking the time out of your day to read this and send me some positivity. It had a bigger impact than I think you realized.

      ~K

Leave a Reply

