News and Changes

So, I’ve talked before (a lot) about writing, and the possibility of being published. Recently, I mentioned that I finished writing a book. But what I didn’t mention is that my writing projects didn’t exactly stop there.

Because I decided “what the hell?” and responded to some open calls for short fiction. Short, queer fiction, to be precise. And I heard back from one of them — Torquere Press. They want to publish one of the short stories I’ve written for them.

And, on the one hand? OMG, DREAM COME TRUE, I’M OVER THE MOON. On the other? It means that some things will have to change.

For starters, it might get a lot more busy round here. And I will have to change my name on this blog to reflect the name I’m publishing under. “Dominique Hayes” is who I’ve been on here for three years, and it feels . . . strange, for want a better word, to think about changing that. To give that up.

I’m trying to remind myself that not all change is bad. That this is less a loss than it is an evolution. Everything else is going to remain the same, here. This is still my corner of the interwebz, still the place I get to post thinky thoughts and rants, weird anecdotes and OMGWHAT? moments. This is still the place I get to write, and share that. This is still the place where I developed my voice.

It’s also going to be the place I let readers find me. Which. It’s odd, that the idea scares me so much when that was why I started this blog in the first place, but there’s a degree of safety in being an anonymous nobody on the internet. In having a readership under 50 people. It’s scary, to be one step closer to achieving a dream I’ve been quietly feeding for the better part of two decades.

But carpe diem, right? So, here goes. Goodbye, Dominique Hayes.

Hello, K. Martin.

~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

