Hello, New Semester

So yesterday was the first day of a new semester. On Sunday, I was worried about it. About the course load, and my health, and how I was going to manage all the crazy that my life basically consists of. I was worried how many layers I was going to have to wear to keep warm while walking back and forth to class in the evening, and if I could adequately layer up without looking like a marshmallow.

After the first day though . . . those worries are significantly less. I was able to spend less than $100 on textbooks for this semester, which is a small miracle for the perpetually-broke. I have a class with my favourite professor, which looks like it will be a joy to participate in. My grades from last semester came back, and I did better than I expected — even in the class with Professor W, the waffler, wherein I paid less and less attention as the semester wore on. I had my first class with a new prof, and I’m understanding why I’ve only ever heard great things about her and this class.

And, well, the truth at the heart of it is something I can’t explain. It just feels like this is going to be a better semester than my last, like I’m getting better at handling the day-to-day demands and now have time to devote to the other things that are important to me. Like writing. Don’t get me wrong — I know that this isn’t going to be easy, because university is anything but, and while all this is currently a cute, fluffy little baby-monster of crazy, I’m well-aware of its potential to grow up into something significantly less cute and more fangy. I’m just not going to worry about that unless and until it happens.

And, I mean, despite the ludicrously drawn-out shitshow that was December, I just have a good feeling about things right now. So here’s hoping that my ESP is working, and good things are on the horizon.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

