What Have I Done?

So, I was out running errands earlier, and while at the grocery store I ran across a sale on tea — in particular, two kinds that I ran out of awhile back and hadn’t been able to find in stores. Needless to say I was all over that. How could I resist? It was even on sale!

But then I got home, and was faced with the challenge of putting it all away. And, staring into the dark abyss where the tea basket slumbers, I realized something terrible. Something life-altering.

I am harbouring the teapocalypse in my closet.

I mean, honestly! I need a set of shelves for all the tea so that I can actually see what I have to choose from instead of playing Jenga with tea canisters. I realized that display was an issue. And, also, space. I think when Milady and I have our own place to live that the teapocalypse will a) take up an entire wall of the kitchen, with counter-to-cupboard stacks of tea boxes and canisters; b) require its own swivelling rack; or, c) descend upon the rest of humanity and end life as we know it.

Jury’s out on which of the three will happen. Feel free to cast your votes, though.

. . . all of which is to say that I spent forty minutes counting and reorganizing my tea stash instead of doing homework like a good student ought. Because I am, apparently, undeniably loony. As evidenced by the fact that I own 36 teas, broken down into 16 herbal infusions, 9 green blends, 5 black blends, 4 red blends, and 2 white blends. I also own two teapots, seven tea cups/mugs, two infusers, a tea ball, loose leaf measuring spoon, and raw sugar in cube form. (Can you tell that I’m not a coffee person?)

But no worries — I’m not completely certifiable. I don’t have a tea cozy.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

