It’s An Introvert Thing

Hello, internets. I didn’t die. I just disappeared for a while.

There are a lot of reasons for that: some health problems, including migraines (which in particular make technology unfriendly), and some family things, and some friend things, and some more family things with other family, and some personal things.

But mostly, it’s an introvert thing. I just needed some time and space. Some time away from, well, everything and everyone else. Because here’s the thing about being an introvert—and make no mistake, I am extremely introverted, to the point that I occasionally joke about being a hermit when I grow up—we function better in environments with lower levels of stimuli.

For me, I can’t focus on whatever I’m trying to do when other people around me are talking. For me, other people’s emotions and problems and lives take root in my mind and expand until, slowly, everything else is crowded out. All my own thoughts and fears and hopes and dreams and goals. Those things that make me a three-dimensional person instead of a caricature, they end up taking a backseat to everyone and everything else. And that is why I need time to myself. Time where the only stimuli is, at most, some music playing in the background. Often it’s the same song on repeat, because it keeps the mood consistent. That’s when I think and write and plan and feel and dream.

So, well, unexpected and periodic disappearances will probably be a thing with me. But know that it’s not because I don’t love The Hangover, or blogging, or the kind souls who have agreed to follow me.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “It’s An Introvert Thing

  1. sonsiekat says:

    Hi there,
    Interesting post – I was just explaining to a friend that I consider myself an introvert. I just love alone time, without noise/people. I’m currently reading this book called ‘Quiet’ that has some interesting ideas on introversion. Here’s the link in case you fancy a look:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Quiet-power-introverts-world-talking/dp/0141029196

Leave a Reply

