Thank You Notes

So, Milady and I recently celebrated our anniversary. We’ve been together a whole year now, and that still causes explosions of holy shit, Batman! in my brain. It’s also made me do a lot of thinking (because y’know, I don’t do much of that usually, right?), and while it’s been really difficult to coherently sum up a year, there are a few sentiments that stand out.

One of those, the only one that I’m willing to share here, is gratitude. I have a lot to be thankful for when it comes to Milady, and the fact that we’ve been together a year is just the tip of the iceburg.

Love, thank you . . .

. . . for that time you asked me to dance

. . . for letting me cook for you

. . . for braving the crazy road-beasts to come see me

. . . for being brave

. . . for claiming that part of yourself

. . . for being possessive, but not jealous

. . . for the pets

. . . for riding the crazy with me, even when said crazy involves no pants

. . . for giving me the push to finally buy them, and yes they were the best purchase ever

. . . for your honesty

. . . for sending me tumblr things and YouTube videos and fun links to follow

. . . for being different from them

. . . for the cuddles

. . . for realizing that no one compares to you, and I don’t try

. . . for being creative and determined enough to find “firsts” for us to try

. . . for introducing me to The Golden Teapot

. . . for making me sleep

. . . for sharing/indulging my love of swing sets

. . . for taking me to see Frozen in theatres

. . . for appreciating my “graveyard tan”

. . . for always being willing to listen to my babble

. . . for it in my handwriting

. . . for blazers and boy-shorts

. . . for supporting Alex, and my friendship with him

. . . for trusting me when I pull out the box of matches

. . . for being able to out-stubborn me

. . . for telling me about the book fair

. . . for introducing me to a new fandom

. . . for helping me learn that it’s okay to expect more from people

. . . for teaching me how to let myself need

. . . for helping me be the best version of me

. . . for making me happy, and

For letting me keep you.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

