A New Crazy Challenge!

(Because no, there will never be enough of those, and I’ve almost completed the Daily Post Challenge.)

So, I went to a used book fair. It was glorious. I exercised extreme restraint, and shopped on a budget, and only took home nine books. (Yes, you read that right: only nine.) It made me realize that I have a whole slew of books which have been given to me as gifts, or that I’ve purchased, that I haven’t been able to read yet. There’s been so much going on in my life over the last year or so that book-reading had kind of slipped out of my life, even though I never lost interest in it. (I would like to point out, however, that I have been reading — just, things that weren’t books.)

Because I’m not counting the books I had to read for class. I’m talking about books read for pleasure.

So I counted up all the books that I want to read, and made a list. Turned out to be a fair bit longer than I had anticipated, which is saying something. The total, in case you were wondering, is 35 novels. Most of them aren’t small, either. Some of the books included are the Harry Potter series, the Artemis Fowl series, four novels by Guy Gavriel Kay, two by Philippa Gregory, a little one by Neil Gaiman, and The Inheritance Cycle (AKA the “Eragon books”) by Christopher Paolini.

And, while I’m giving myself the whole summer to read these, I have a sneaking suspicion that it won’t take me anywhere near that long. (For the record, I’ve read three of the books on my list in the 48 hours after I picked them up from the book fair.) If/when I manage to complete this self-appointed task, I will probably wax lyrical about it here. And, while I’m sure that it’s perfectly obvious, I would just like to say that I am really, deeply, and truly looking forward to getting so drunk on words I wind up hungover.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

