Girl With One Eye

So, there’s nothing like creepy music to make the writing bug bite. Seriously. (Or, well . . . for me, anyway.) In this case, desperately needing some time away from the fucking academics probably helped.

So instead, I’ve been listening to Florence + Machine’s version of “Girl With One Eye” (it was originally done by Ludes). It’s delightfully creepy; the music smoky and jazzy and dark, the vocals drawling and growling and howling by turns. The song gives the impression of violence simmering just under the surface, held back only by a thin glaze of sanity.

For the Potter nerds among you, you will understand why I say that this seems like it ought to be the personal anthem of Bellatrix Lestrange. For those who don’t get the reference, here are some lyrical snippets:

  • “I took a knife and cut out her eye/ I took it home and watched it wither and die/ Well, she’s lucky that I didn’t slip her a smile/ That’s why she sleeps with one eye open, oh/ But that’s the price she paid”
  • “I slipped my hand under her skirt/ I said don’t worry, oh, it’s not gonna hurt/ Oh, my reputation’s kinda clouded with dirt”
  • “I said hey, girl with one eye/ I’ll cut your little heart out/ ‘Cause you made me cry”

. . . and, given those lyrics, it probably surprises absolutely no one that the writing I did yesterday was rather warped.

But while we’re still on the topic, “Awakening” by The Damning Well was also fuelling my fiction-writing yesterday. But it is somewhat less creepy than “Girl With One Eye”. I think. Which (if true) is ironic, given that it’s metal. And, before I leave this particular topic . . . it only just dawned on me that I have a real fondness for creepy music, but in a wide range of genres and styles, from “Girl With One Eye” to “Awakening” to “Zombie Prostitute” (this is exactly as hilarious and inappropriate as the title suggests) to “Come Little Children” (think the witch in Hansel & Gretel).

This is for those of you who are now morbidly curious, and want to hear the creepy for yourselves:
Girl With One Eye http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NC_his0-SKw
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

