The Countdown Continues, Pt. III

Four more weeks. Four more weeks ’til I’m done with the nonsense of papers and weekly readings and major projects and exams.

And, really, the hard part is going to be the next three. If I can survive the next three weeks, I’m in the clear. The next three weeks are the hard part, the bit where I have to turn in a bunch of papers. And, honestly, if you think that writing a paper is easier than writing an exam, you’re completely bats. The exam is relatively easy, and it’s over with quickly; with a paper, the agony drags through figuring out a thesis, doing research, creating an outline (if you’re like me), and then actually writing the fucking thing. Once all the damn papers are in, I will have a full week to study for the exam (singular, not plural) that I have to sit.

It’s not been easy. I think I might (finally!) be getting there. At the very least, I’m trying really damn hard, which has to count for something. And while it’s taking more effort than usual–because I’m still dealing with the whole lack-of-focus issue–I am, at least, getting somewhere. Maybe not as fast as I want, certainly not as easily as I’d like, but things are getting done.

Of course, there are still clusterfucks. Things that just don’t go right no matter how amazingly you plan, how much you hope, and/or how hard you try. Things taking longer than they should to finish, for example. Getting sick, being too tired to focus, and struggling with material that you just hate are a few more examples.

So I’m going to try really hard, plan my ass off, and cross my fingers that Life doesn’t throw any more monkey-wrenches my way. Because, seriously, if anything else goes wrong, I may just have to blow something up. Or burn something down. Or murder someone. I’m not choosey.

~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

