Birthday Thoughts

Happy birthday to me,
Happy birthday to me!
Happy birthday, happy birthday,
Happy birthday to me!

So, I’m a year older now, but I still feel the same. Mind, that’s sort of been my typical birthday experience, even on the “milestone” birthdays. I suppose it’s a good thing; the fact that I still feel like me, even if I’m officially older.

I find myself looking back on last year, and thinking that it was a seriously mixed bag. I wished on my last birthday for a better year; and in a way, it was better. It was also filled with extremes. In the last 365 days, I had to bury my mother, sort out a flaming fuckton of health problems, and somehow get through university. But in the last 365 days, I also reconnected with Auntie Dude and Cousin Sparky, found the treasure that is Milady, reconciled with Alex, and realized what an amazing friend I have in the tiny-but-amazing Hero.

So, despite all that I’m dealing with right now–I got super-sick in November, so sick I wound up in the hospital; I missed a bunch of class and now I’m fighting to play catch-up; and I’m in the middle of exam season–I’m going to try to enjoy my birthday. After all, it only comes ’round once a year.

And hopefully, next year will be better than this one.
~

I think this goes without saying, but as we live in a world of rampant asshattery, please allow me to state for the record: this is my intellectual property. As such, please do not copy, circulate, edit, alter, take credit for, or otherwise appropriate this material without my express permission. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

